中文联系电话: +1 (514) 509-4242 传真: (514) 509-1622 联系电邮: contact@miila.ca

常见问题答疑

关于蒙特利尔

我会喜欢蒙特利尔吗 ?

与加拿大其它城市相比,蒙特利尔因其更洁净,更安全,并兼具新鲜有趣的城市生活而闻名。蒙特利尔的生活消费也是北美最低! 您可以用在加拿大或美国其它城市的同样消费,在蒙特利尔呆的更舒服更长久。蒙特利尔有好多有趣的事情可以做,你在这里绝对不会闷得无聊,最终你会爱上这个城市!

我会害怕蒙特利尔的冬天吗?

尽管加拿大的冬天比较冷,但是一点也不用害怕蒙特利尔的冬天!在一月和二月,大雪纷飞,银装素裹,室外温度也低至零下,但是,穿上厚厚的冬装,带上温暖的帽子和手套后,您将感觉不到丝毫的寒意。尽管不能像夏天那样整天呆在户外,但是蒙特利尔卓有名气的地下城将会给您带来别样感受!M.I.I.L.A. 学校距离地下城出入口也仅有几分钟不行时间。请尽情享受冬天带来的激情澎湃,在冬天冰雪节中好好乐一吧!在蒙特利尔渡过一个激情的冬天,让您的人生没有遗憾!

蒙特利尔最适宜学习的季节是哪个 ?

这完全取决于每个学生自己对温度和室外活动的偏好。蒙特利尔全年的夜生活闻名于全世界,一般来说学生更享受夏季生活,夏季的白天时间更长更温暖。但是如果您更享受冬日雪景,喜欢新鲜有趣的冬季活动,那么蒙特利尔的冬天显然更适合您!

有关M.I.I.L.A.

校内能上网吗 ?

是!M.I.I.L.A. 提供无限高速上网,并且有自由WIFI可供学生使用。您可以使用自己的移动电子设备也可以使用学校机房的电脑。

学校老师有着怎样的资格认证?

我们的老师都有着TESL (Teaching English as a Second Language) 证书或者有着相似对等高校学历。另外,他们在加拿大或者其他国家有着丰富的语言教学经历。

我能够参加学校的活动吗?

是的! 我们经常举办各种不同的课外活动。我们的课外活动日程表每学期更新,布告会贴在活动区墙上,Facebook 也会随时更新。我们强烈鼓励学生们尽可能多的参加课外活动,开心渡过自己的业余生活还能练习语言。

学校规定使用什么语言?

M.I.I.L.A. 严格要求校内只能用英语或者法语交流。

有关课程、注册和取消条款

注册课程我最少要交多少金额?

当您想注册一门课程时,要求至少要求交付一个最小数目金额以保障录取通知书的正常发放,以不影响签证顺利取得。最小支付金额取决于您的学习时间。

取消课程如何进行 ?

这取决于您自身的情况和取消课程的理由。请参看官网上的退款条款,或者和我们的工作人员联系。

更改课程

更改一门课需要$100(加币)的费用。请注意这笔费用不予退还

如果我想更改课程或者时间表该怎么做?

在课程开始前更改课程或者时间表不会产生任何费用。请参考官网上的管理条款,或者和我们的工作人员联系。

我需要参加入学测试吗 ?

是的! 在M.I.I.L.A.上学的第一天,您需要在老师的带领下参加入学测试以此来判断您的水平和需要进入的班级。测试由40分钟的笔试和口语组成。

我需要通过托福考试才能进入M.I.I.LA.吗?

不需要

如果我完成了课程,会有一张证书吗?

是的,一旦您完成了您的课程切通过了所有的测试,你将会得到一份正式的证书,上面写明了您所完成的阶段水平,所完成的总学时和选修课时等信息。证书将由学校的总裁签署。其他类型的证明信也可以签发,具体信息请和我们的工作人员联系。

我能每周一开始上课吗?

是的!你可以每周一开始您的课程。但是我们强烈建议您还是从官方日期开始上课,否则您可能在后面会被调整到其他的班级去。官方开始日期请参见我们的官网或是和我们的工作人员联系。

我能购买教材吗?

可以,您需要购买教材和练习册。英文教材和练习册为$60加币。一本教材能用两个阶段。如果没有购买教材,老师不会给您提供教材复印件。 

因为紧急情况我能中断我的课程吗 ?

可以的,如果有紧急情况您可以短暂的中断您的课程。请注意我们有着严格的校规章程,你需要尽快书面通知学校您离开的时间,请注意缺课不能成为退款的正式理由。

如果我觉得课程和我语言水平不符合我能更换吗?

在上课之前,您将会通过一场包括写作和口语的入学测试。通过考试结果我们会把您分到与您水平最相符合的班级。如果您觉得自己的班级水平不符合,我们会讨论给您调整班级的可行性。

我网上注册总有问题,该怎么办?

一旦您在我们网上注册,几分钟内您会收到一封确认信。如果您没有收到这封注册信,可能我们没有收到您的注册信息,或者您没有正确填写好您的邮箱地址,请重新再试一次。如果您在线注册还是有问题,请直接和我们打电话或者电邮联系,我们的工作人员会很乐意帮您解决问题。

有关VISA

来M.I.I.L.A.学习我需要M.I.I.L.A.吗 ?

如果您是国际学生,那么您可以在加拿大境内学习少于6个月而无需申请学习签证。具体情况取决于您的所在国家,可能您需要申请一个访问签证(Visitor Visa/Temporary Resident Permit – TRP). 如果您只是注册6个月以内的课却考虑要延期,那么您需要申请一个学习许可证(Study Permit)。

如果您希望在加拿大学习超过6个月的时间,您需要申请一个学生签证CAQ (Quebec student visa)和一个学习许可证(Study Permit). 整个申请过程大概需要8周。 学习许可证申请过程自动包含了访问者签证程序(如果选择了申请)。 请注意这取决于魁北克移民部和您所在国加拿大大使馆或者领事馆的具体章程。M.I.I.L.A. 不能保障visa的顺利发放,也没有权利要求大使馆返还您的资料。

更多信息请参见下面网址:

Immigration-Canada: www.cic.gc.ca

Immigration-Quebec: www.immigration-quebec.gouv.qc.ca

Will M.I.I.L.A. help me obtain my student visa?

Yes, we can help you obtain your student visa. Quebec immigration regulations are slightly different from those of other provinces in Canada. To study in Quebec, you will need to obtain a CAQ (Quebec student visa) before applying for a Study Permit. We can assist you with your CAQ application, free of charge, by submitting your application to Immigration-Quebec on your behalf directly from Montreal, as long as you send us all the required documents. If a document is missing, your CAQ application may be delayed or refused. M.I.I.L.A. is not responsible for any CAQ or Study Permit denials.

 

我们能够周末或者假期去美国旅游而不需要签证吗?

这取决于您的国籍。允许下列国家的公民在美国停留3个或小于3个月可以免签证入境:安多拉,澳大利亚,奥地利,比利时,文莱,丹麦,芬兰,法国,德国,冰岛,爱尔兰,意大利,日本,列支敦士登,卢森堡,摩纳哥,荷兰,新西兰,挪威,葡萄牙,新加坡,斯洛文尼亚,西班牙,瑞典,英国。如果您是其他国家的国民,那么您去美国游玩之前需要办理签证。蒙特利尔有美国大使馆,办理签证需要提前6个星期预约。美国访问签证所需费用为100美金。请注意您也可以在您的所在国直接申请美国签证。我们建议您在去美国旅行之前和加拿大移民部和美国大使馆咨询相关条款。

我能申请签证延期吗? 应该怎么做?

是的,您能申请延期签证。您需要在现有签证过期前5个星期提前申请。如果您想同时延期您的CAQ和Study Permit,那么您需要提前至少9个星期延期。签证延期需要您提供所需的所有材料。您可以不用离开加拿大就申请延期签证。更多资料请查询:http://www.cic.gc.ca 或电话:1-888-242-2100.

其他问题

我需要提前多久来蒙特利尔?

我们建议学生在开学前几天来蒙特利尔,这样学生可以更好的适应这个城市,熟悉这里的交通,天气,宿舍或者住宿家庭。

我需要带多少钱来 ?

旅行时带大量现金总是不合适的。您可以再动身之前准备旅行支票,然后蒙特利尔的银行兑换出来。信用卡也是支付日常开销的常用安全方式。如果您证件齐全,您还可以在蒙特利尔银行开个银行账户,开户后您会有张自己的银行卡(有密码的借记卡),这样您可以在全加拿大境内取钱或者消费。

学习期间我能打工吗 ?

国际学生在加拿大打工是不合法的。如果想在加拿大工作,您需要有一个合法的工作签证,或者成为加拿大永久居民或公民。

Telephone: (514) 509-4242 Fax: (514) 509-1622 Email: info@miila.ca

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Questions about Montreal

Will I like Montreal?

Montreal is without a doubt the safest, cleanest, most fun and exciting city in Canada, and the cost of living is the lowest in North America! This means that you will be able to afford longer and more enjoyable stays here than in any other Canadian city and most cities in the USA. There are so many things to do in Montreal that it is impossible to get bored. You will love Montreal!

Should I be afraid of winter in Montreal?

Not at all, although winters are cold in Canada and Montreal can be cooler than some other cities. In January and February, snow is abundant and temperatures drop below zero degree Celsius; however, you will be well equipped with a winter coat, a warm hat that covers your ears, a pair of gloves and a scarf that covers your nose and mouth. People do not tend to wander around outdoors for hours during the winter as they would during the summer; instead, they enjoy the amazing underground city! By the way, did you know that M.I.I.L.A. is located only minutes away from the underground city?! You can also enjoy winter sports such as downhill or cross-country skiing, ice skating, tubing and fun winter festivals. Spending at least one winter in Montreal will be a fantastic unforgettable experience.

What is the best season to study in Montreal?

It depends. Each student has different temperature preferences and interests in outdoor activities. The nightlife remains the same throughout the year. Students generally enjoy summer more than the winter in Montreal, because of the warm weather, the longer days, and the numerous outdoor festivals. However, if you have never seen snow or enjoyed winter activities before, a winter in Montreal is a must!

Questions about M.I.I.L.A.

Will I have internet access?

Yes! M.I.I.L.A. offers free unlimited high speed internet and Wi-Fi access. You can either connect to our wireless network from your own laptop or use one of the workstations in our computer lab.

How qualified are your teachers?

Our teachers are all TESL (Teaching English as a Second Language) certified and/or have pertinent university degrees.  In addition, they all have extensive teaching experience in Canada or abroad.

Will I be able to participate in activities?

Yes! We organize activities on a regular basis. Our activity calendar is updated every session, and is posted in the student lounge and on Facebook. We strongly encourage students to participate and have fun.

What is your language policy inside the school?

M.I.I.L.A. has a strict rule to only communicate in English or French within our facilities.

Questions about Programs, Registration and Cancellations

What is the minimum deposit I have to pay upon registration?

A minimum payment is required when you register for a program, before we issue the official Letter of Acceptance that you will need for immigration/visa purposes. The amount of this minimum payment depends on your period of study.

What if I need to cancel?

This will depend on your situation and reason for cancelling. Please refer to our refund policy, which can be found in the Admissions section of this website, or contact one of our representatives. We will do our best to process your cancellation request.

Program Modifications

Modifications to the course dates may be made once at a cost of $100 (CAD). Please note that this fee is non-refundable.

What if I wish to change my program or schedule?

There is no extra charge for changing programs or schedules as long as these changes are made prior to your start date. Please refer to the policies in the Admissions section of this website under Registration, or contact one of our representatives.

Will I need to take a placement test?

Yes! You must take a Language Assessment Test on your first day at M.I.I.L.A. to allow our Director of Studies to determine your level and place you in the appropriate courses. This test consists of two (2) sections: a written section of 40 minutes and an oral section.

Do I need to pass a TOEFL exam to get into M.I.I.LA.?

No.

Will I obtain a Certificate when I complete my program?

Yes! Once you have completed your program, and if you have passed all your courses, you will obtain an official Certificate showing the level(s) that you have completed, the total amount of class hours attended, and any elective courses that you may have taken. The Certificate will be signed by our Director of Studies. Other types of attestations of studies are also available. Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information.

Can I start on any given Monday?

Yes! You can start your courses on any given Monday, but we strongly recommend starting on an official start date, otherwise you may be placed in an ongoing class. Please contact one our representatives for official start dates.

Will I have to purchase any course materials?

Yes, you will have to purchase textbooks and exercise books. The cost for one exercise book and one textbook (including a CD-ROM) is CAD $60. Please note that most books are used throughout two (2) levels. Teachers will not provide you with photocopies or handouts if you do not have the required textbooks and exercise books.

Will I be able to interrupt my classes in case of emergency or if I want to take a vacation?

Yes, it is always possible to temporarily interrupt your classes, but remember that we have a strict attendance policy. Should you wish to take a break from your program, you must inform the Director of Studies as soon as possible. Please note that unattended classes as a result of a program interruption will NOT be refunded.

Can I change courses if I feel that the level is not right for me?

Before you start your program, you will take a Language Assessment Test consisting of both written and oral sections. This will allow our Director of Studies to place you in the most appropriate level according to your test scores. If you do not feel comfortable in your level, we will gladly discuss the possibility of changing your courses.

I am experiencing problems with the online registration. What should I do?

Once you submit your online registration, you should receive a confirmation e-mail within a few minutes. If you do not receive this confirmation e-mail, we may not have received your registration or you may have entered an incorrect e-mail address. Please try again. If you are still experiencing problems, please contact us by e-mail or by phone, and one of our representatives will gladly assist you.

Questions about Visas

Do I need a visa to study at M.I.I.L.A.?

If you are an international student, you are allowed to study in Canada for less than six (6) months without a Study Permit. However, depending on your country of origin, you may need a Visitor Visa (Temporary Resident Permit – TRP) to enter Canada. If you are only registered to study in Canada for less than six (6) months but are considering extending your stay, it is recommended to apply for a Study Permit.  Remember that although you can extend your Study Permit from within Canada, you cannot obtain your original Study Permit from within Canada.

 

If you wish to study in Canada for over six (6) month, you will need to apply for a CAQ (Quebec student visa) and a Study Permit. The entire process takes approximately eight (8) weeks. The Study Permit application automatically includes the processing of a Visitor Visa (if required). Please note that it is up to Immigration-Quebec and to your local Canadian Embassy or Consulate to issue or refuse visas. M.I.I.L.A. does not have any control over the issuance of visas and is not authorized to retrieve any information on your behalf.

 

More information can be found on the following official websites:

Immigration-Canada: www.cic.gc.ca

Immigration-Quebec: www.immigration-quebec.gouv.qc.ca

Will M.I.I.L.A. help me obtain my student visa?

Yes, we can help you obtain your student visa. Quebec immigration regulations are slightly different from those of other provinces in Canada. To study in Quebec, you will need to obtain a CAQ (Quebec student visa) before applying for a Study Permit. We can assist you with your CAQ application, free of charge, by submitting your application to Immigration-Quebec on your behalf directly from Montreal, as long as you send us all the required documents. If a document is missing, your CAQ application may be delayed or refused. M.I.I.L.A. is not responsible for any CAQ or Study Permit denials.

 

Will I be able to travel to the USA during weekends or holidays without a visa?

It depends on your nationality. The USA have a Visa Waiver Program which allows citizens from the following countries to be exempt from a visitor visa when visiting the USA for less than three (3) months: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom. If you are a citizen of any another country, you will not be able to cross the US border without a visa. There is a US Consulate in Montreal, and it takes approximately six (6) weeks to get an appointment. The US Visitor Visa costs US $100. Please note that you can also apply for a US Visitor Visa directly from your country of origin before coming to Canada. We strongly recommend checking with Immigration-Canada or the US Consulate in Montreal before you plan a trip to find out which rules apply to you.

Can I obtain a visa extension and how should I proceed?

Yes, you can obtain a visa extension. You should apply for an extension at least five (5) weeks prior to your visa expiration date. If you need to extend both your CAQ and your Study Permit, you should apply at least nine (9) weeks in advance. A visa extension is usually granted provided that you present all the required documents. You do not need to leave the country to apply for a visa extension, as they are processed in Canada. For more information, please visit http://www.cic.gc.ca or call 1-888-242-2100.

Other Questions

How long before my start date should I arrive in Montreal?

We recommend arriving in Montreal at least a few days before your program begins in order to familiarize yourself with the city, the transportation system, the weather, and your residence or host family.

How much money should I bring?

It is never recommended to carry large amounts of cash when travelling. You can order traveller’s cheques before leaving your country of origin and exchange them for cash at a bank in Montreal. Credit cards are also a safe way to purchase everyday items. You are allowed to open a bank account in Montreal if you present the required documents. You will then receive an Interac card (debit card with a PIN number) which you will be able to use almost everywhere in Canada to withdraw money and make purchases.

Will I be able to work in Montreal while I study at M.I.I.L.A.?

It is illegal for international students to work in Canada. In order to work in Canada, you must possess a valid Work Permit or be a Permanent Resident/Canadian citizen.